In the third inning of Saturday's Game 6 in the American League Championship Series, Pedroia smashed a towering shot to left, well over the Green Monster and everything behind it. If it was a home run, it would've scored three off Tigers starter Max Scherzer, who winced at the ball's flight path.
As Pedroia slowly made his way toward first base trying to will the ball fair, it instead sailed just wide of the foul pole, appearing to miss it by mere inches. The play was reviewed and the foul ball ruling held up.
In anticlimactic fashion, Pedroia then grounded into a double play to end the inning.
Jason Mastrodonato is a reporter for MLB.com. Follow him on Twitter @jmastrodonato. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.