Now Commenting On:

Tigers have five with 10 wins for first time since '84

Tigers have five with 10 wins for first time since '84

Tigers have five with 10 wins for first time since '84

DETROIT -- The Tigers hadn't had a team with five pitchers all reaching double digits in wins since 1984. With Rick Porcello's victory Sunday in New York, the 2013 Tigers accomplished it with 32 games to spare.

Porcello (10-7) joined the rest of Detroit's rotation with at least 10 victories. Max Scherzer got there a long time ago on his way to a 19-1 start. Justin Verlander enters his start Tuesday with 12 victories. Anibal Sanchez entered Monday's start with 11 wins, tied with Doug Fister.

The 1984 squad had four starters -- Jack Morris, Dan Petry, Milt Wilcox and Juan Berenguer -- with double-digit wins, along with reliever Aurelio Lopez. The 1980 team also had four starters with at least 10 wins, along with Lopez.

The 1962 Tigers had five pitchers with at least 20 starts and 10 wins, but two of Paul Foytack's 10 wins came in relief.

Not since 1949 had five Tigers starters all reached double-digit wins in starts. Hall of Famer Hal Newhouser headed that rotation, followed by Virgil Trucks, Art Houtteman, Ted Gray and Fred Hutchinson.

The Tigers are the first Major League team this year with five pitchers in double digits for wins. The Rays, Giants and Nationals all did it last year.

Jason Beck is a reporter for MLB.com. Read Beck's Blog and follow him on Twitter @beckjason. Bobby Nightengale is an associate reporter for MLB.com. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.

Boys and Girls Club of America

©2014 MLBAM, LP. All rights reserved.

The following are trademarks or service marks of Major League Baseball entities and may be used only with permission of Major League Baseball Properties, Inc. or the relevant Major League Baseball entity: Major League, Major League Baseball, MLB, the silhouetted batter logo, World Series, National League, American League, Division Series, League Championship Series, All-Star Game, and the names, nicknames, logos, uniform designs, color combinations, and slogans designating the Major League Baseball clubs and entities, and their respective mascots, events and exhibitions. Use of the Website signifies your agreement to the Terms of Use and Privacy Policy (updated May 24, 2013).

View MLB.com in English | En Español